GIFTS

Words are Gifts


Discovering A Bird Colony

Slicing has made me look at my world differently. I am noticing beauty around me. I must say beauty in my eyes or beauty when I do not have the full story.

On my leaving D, after a visit to his boarding school yesterday, I noticed trees in the distance that looked amazing. The trees were decorated with white birds.

I shared a slice with a photograph on day 17 and one of the comments was a slicer wondering the type of birds that live in the trees of the photo. I guess this comment has been at the back of my mind and resurfaced when I saw this phenomenal view.

IMG_4888.jpg

We drove past it quickly and I thought to myself, I will take a photograph of this extraordinary view the next time I visit. Then I remembered I could ask D to take a photograph of the view and send it to me. So I did.

Inspired by mschiubookawrites’s slice from day 24, when she shared how PaperbackEd’s slice had inspired her, I will attach my mobile communication with D.

IMG_4891.jpg

D found the request hilarious. I guess the students regard the birds a nuisance.

IMG_4892.jpg 

So I did. I had to clarify what I had been told. So I carried out some research.

Screen Shot 2019-03-25 at 10.10.34 AM.png

I was wanderings why the egrets congregated in that particular area.

Screen Shot 2019-03-24 at 8.02.25 PM.png

D told me later that there is a swamp very close to the trees, the students walk that way for classes every morning, I guess that answers my question.

What I found beautiful from a distance is detested by others, people living close by.

 



6 responses to “Discovering A Bird Colony”

  1. Yes, this writing challenge forces us to look at everything in our paths as a potential post!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Wow J, there’s so much here. I love that you included your text exchange. I also was struck by this keen observation, that what others might see as beautiful, we take for granted or even resent. Thanks for sharing!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Slicing really does make us more aware of our surroundings. The first time we saw egrets was when we drove to Florida 30 + years ago. As we crossed the border there were egrets everywhere. We didn’t know what they were so we asked at the welcome station.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I love how you described your writing process from when the thought evolved. Thanks for sharing.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Great egrets are hilarious! It’s funny to think of a tall, lanky bird nesting on top of a tree. Watch them fish sometime. It’s an incredible show.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. You led us through a beautiful inquiry. You started with a provocation, started asking questions, observed and documented and then made sense of it all. I enjoyed the mix media in this slice. We get to see the contrast between mom’s poetic ponderings and D’s pragmatic view of the topic. I hope to see the colony one day. Thanks for teaching us today.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

About Me

I am am Elementary school teacher at an International IB School in Accra, Ghana, West Africa. I write with groups of writers, such as Teach Write.

Newsletter