GIFTS

Words are Gifts


The Sun

IMG_7446.jpg

This photograph was taken on my way to work.

Can you see the sun?

It is hiding behind the tree.

In the distance peering at us

Hoping to give us some light

Reminding us of what we have

An  extraordinary inheritance

An enchanting delivery

I was able to capture

This inheritance

That stands out

Let’s appreciate 

The present

And revere it.

Nature gives us so much beauty. I never ever saw it that way as a child, but now that I am older I appreciate what is around me. 

screen-shot-2017-12-02-at-6-09-23-am.png

 

 



8 responses to “The Sun”

  1. You’re making me miss the Abelempke sun. Love the use of ‘an extraordinary inheritance’ – it is for sure, that. Thanks for a beautiful end to my day. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. A reminder to appreciate all that is around us. Thank you for this post!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Beautiful visually and poetically. Thanks for sharing!
    https://friendswithoutid.wordpress.com

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Your post immediately made the song “Hard Sun” by Eddie Veder pop into my mind. I also thought about all the things I missed while traveling in my younger years and how I wish I could go back and pay closer attention to it all.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. “an extraordinary inheritance”…what a beautiful phrase. Thank you

    Liked by 1 person

  6. What an incredible photograph to write from. We have to look closely and pay attention to see the sun. The metaphor of “inheritance” is so powerful here. Like you, I barely paid attention to the beauty of nature when I was a child, but the older I get, the more important it is to me.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Yes. A reminder to look at the sky. To take in the beauty we see. To pay attention as we look about.

    I also love the idea that we need to appreciate “the present” – both the gifts that are bestowed upon us AND the time that we have, right here, right now.

    Absolutely beautiful. Thank you!

    Like

  8. As others have said, I also was captured by the word inheritance. My son longs for the sun when it’s dark. Your idea of it being delivered to us each day is magical. Just think, we all witness the same sun but in such a myriad of ways.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

About Me

I am am Elementary school teacher at an International IB School in Accra, Ghana, West Africa. I write with groups of writers, such as Teach Write.

Newsletter