GIFTS

Words are Gifts


The First Trot

I had my first run yesterday. Desperate for exercise, with my unsuccessful skipping regime, I decided to run at home. 

5pm, I rush to the room, I have got to exercise today. Desperately searching for my gym clothes, which I have had for many years and never worn, I dig and turn my perfectly organised casual cupboard. Where are they? I own a grey sleeveless top and a pink t-shirt with matching grey sweatpants. I always moved them when I tidied up. Whenever I touched them, in the past, I told myself I will wear you soon. Today I need you and can’t find you. 

Desperate for some shorts to wear E comes along and says:

“Mum I have a pair that will fit you.”

I smile and realise there are others rallying for me. With my old T-shirt on, she searches her well laid out wardrobe, greens, blues, blacks and florals. Pulls out this black stretchy teeny pair of sports shorts with a white line at both sides. I am excited, I am going to squeeze myself into this by all means and get running. I pull and push, tucking my stomach in at the same time and with one big pull I’m in. E is sitting on the bed staring and smiling.

“I told you it would fit you Mum.” 

I am encouraged. Almost ready, I get my casual trainers on. Of course my sports stylist appears and insists I wear sports trainers. I refuse. I need to be comfortable.  After all I feel like toothpaste in a tube, I am not going to add any more discomfort to this event.

Times up! There are smirks all around me. F looks up, K runs to get his IPAD , E giggles following me out. Of course I invite them to join me. Before I leave, I say to them I’m only running ten times back and forth. That was my goal, I had to announce it so I would do it. I trotted out of the door. I began with more spectators, my two older guard dogs who seemed confused, not knowing whether to run with me or get out of my way. I ignored them.

It was not a run after all, I trotted back and forth, stopping to catch my breath. From our wall to the gate, which is about fifty yards and slightly uphill coming back. It was a cool evening but I was hot, sweaty and panting. K took videos of Mum struggling, I found that hilarious. I had an interesting start to my new regime.

I am looking forward to beating my eight times back and forth trot as that is all my legs could manage!

screen-shot-2017-12-02-at-6-09-23-am-1.png



9 responses to “The First Trot”

  1. I love that you persisted with you exercise regimen. I, too, am feeling like a slug and am missing the gym. We need to get that exercise where we can. I also love how your whole group was involved, from the lending of shorts to the giggles and the photo ops! Thanks for brightening my morning.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. How much fun, glad that all your kids were cooperating and enjoying the moment! So good and you will definitely improve as you keep at it! Well done!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Eight times back and forth is a great start! Don’t give up! Running is one of my favorite things to do – for me it helps to relieve stress and clear my mind.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. You are brave to do all of this with an audience! Keep it up and you’ll be running (and skipping!) like a champ.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Goals get me going too. It’s good to have a starting point and now you can challenge yourself to beat it! I’ve been briskly walking with a bit of jogging in the mix. It helps.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. This rules. I can 100% picture you running, and the humor you bring to this moment is a delight. Keep going J! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  7. I love how your kids are your sportswear stylists and cheerleaders. Your metaphor about feeling like toothpaste made me laugh because we have all been there. Thank you for this post.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. The first step is always the hardest. Keep it up!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. To me? Trot = run, and you are beating EVERYone who has stayed put on the couch.

    You’ve got this!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

About Me

I am am Elementary school teacher at an International IB School in Accra, Ghana, West Africa. I write with groups of writers, such as Teach Write.

Newsletter